Insecure? Make God Your Source of Approval

An epidemic of insecurity is stealing the joy of life from many people in our society today and causing major problems in their relationships. I know the effect insecurity can have on lives because I experienced it myself.

Those who are insecure, often seek the approval of others to try to overcome their feelings of rejection and low self-esteem. They are approval addicts. When we struggle with insecurity, only one thing will set us free, and that is God’s truth. The truth is that we don’t need to struggle to get from man what God freely gives us: love, acceptance, approval, security, worth and value.

He is our Refuge, our High Tower, our Strength, our Stronghold in times of trouble and our Hiding Place (see Psalm 9:9; 31:4; 32:7; 37:39; 46:11). Our worth, value, acceptance and approval come from Him. As long as we have those, we have the most valuable things in the world. As you look to Him, you will be lifted to new levels of freedom, becoming the confident, mature person you were created to be.

I was looking to the wrong sources of approval. Yes I was looking to other people and circumstances to fill me up and make me feel good about myself and often times I am left feeling empty, frustrated and exhausted. Embracing God’s truth and love for me changed my life tremendously. Embracing God’s truth (The word of God) and believing I am who God says I am! Knowing who I am in Christ makes me feel whole and complete and above all FREE! Yes the Bible says ‘You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free’.

True freedom is when you don’t feel the need to GET acceptance or approval from anyone but God. So make God your source of approval today and embrace His truth. Remember this, you are not what people say you are, you are what God says you are!

Prayer: Lord, I look to You for security. I focus on the truth – You are my refuge and strength. You give me love and acceptance. In You alone I am completely confident. Amen!

Post Inspired by Joyce Meyer

Leave a comment